1st Annual Denis Hill Memorial Regatta (click on photo for larger image and back button to return)

   1st Annual Denis Hill Memorial Regatta

    After too much wind one week and two little wind the next the 1st Annual Denis Hill Memorial Regatta was completed on March 23, 2011.  The sunfish raced with minimal winds on March 16.  The Regatta founder Eve Hill was on hand to preside over the Regatta and present the Awards.  This year's trophies were awarded to both the Sunfish and PRAM classes.  Our new IOD class will share with the PRAM class.
    Eve Hill and Vera Taborsky shared funny and touching stories about Denis.  He loved sailing and helping us Bitter Ends both on the water, serving many years as the PRAM Race Chairman, and as instructor at our Learn to Sail classes.   Vera had Denis' favorite cake to share with all. 
    The giant poster of Denis at the helm of his sailboat while competing in a Crow's Nest Regatta helped new Salts get to know him and reminded old Salts of our friend and helper.

  Pictures by Nancy Marik and Karen Williams
Regatta Winners:
Far left Sunfish Winner Shirley Geoffrion, Regatta founder Eve Hill, Denis Hill Poster, Prams winner Wendy Murray and IOD Winner Carolyn Holmes,


After two weather delays, regatta for PRAMS finally starts! Regatta founder Eve Hill watches!

Eve gets ready to present the awards!

The Trophies for Sunfish, left, and PRAMS /IOD, right

Eve presents PRAM trophy to Wendy Murray and Carolyn Holmes.

Wendy Murray in her PRAM

Carolyn Holmes in IOD Class PRAM

Caroyln prepares to round a mark

Sunfish winner Shirley Geoffrion at left

Shirley Geoffrion in her winning Sunfish at left

Light winds brought on towing out for a few

and towing in for a few.

Welcome back Yvonne Sonnenleiter after absence due to a September knee injury helping with the sunfish and illness has kept her away!

Judy Karr searches for wind

Eve shares funny stories about Denis

Vera shares her own tribute to Denis, and his fovorite cake she often made for him.

Enjoying the awards lunch are Eve Hill and Nancy Muldoon


This site page was last updated 09/07/14